The Painter’s Brush (2012)

Beautiful melodies and more explorative styles

This was Shayne’s last album from the middle period that had begun with “Curve,” continuing some of the same ideas but with an emphasis on virtuosic melodies rather than dance sequences. Styles range from trance to chill-out to electro-pop. There are four songs and eight instrumentals with romantic lyrics and breathtaking soundscapes. The final track is clearly the bridge into his next album, “The Hero.” Be carried away on this musical journey from ShaYne.

Visit the lyrics page.

Track listing:

  1. In the Land of the Mountains 8:42
  2. Painter’s Brush 6:17
  3. To Moonbathe 1:48
  4. The New Land 4:57
  5. Catch It All 4:21
  6. Live to Let Go 4:40
  7. Nothing I See 5:16
  8. Eternal Life 4:57
  9. Follow the Veil 2:36
  10. Intro to Flowers of May 1:26
  11. Flowers of May 4:16
  12. Be Clear Again 7:27

Equipment used:

  • Roland Juno-106 6-voice polyphonic synthesizer
  • monophonic modular synthesizer
  • Dave Smith Instruments Tetra 4-voice polyphonic synthesizer
  • Roland Alpha Juno-2 6-voice polyphonic synthesizer
  • Ibanez AP-7 phasers
  • Boss DS-1 distortion pedal
  • Dunlop Carbon Copy delay
  • Triplett Harps Celtic harp

  • Cakewalk Sonar X1 DAW
  • Native Instruments FM8
  • Propellerhead Reason
  • Cakewalk Rapture
  • Cakewalk Session Drummer 3
  • Spectrasonics Atmosphere
  • Many other VST plugins

All tracks except track 9 composed, mixed, and mastered with Cakewalk Sonar X1 at Blazing Edge Studio. Track 9 composed, mixed, and mastered with Propellerhead Reason at Santa Rosa Junior College and Blazing Edge Studio. All music, lyrics, sound engineering, and graphics/photography by Shayne for Blazing Edge Productions. Copyright © 2012 Blazing Edge Productions.


High-Definition Progressive Wave